top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArthur

What's A Tongue Tie?!

What’s a Tongue Tie?!

So, my daughter is officially one week old, time is going by fast. Today I had to do something which was hard but necessary for my daughter’s well-being. She had to get her tongue tie, or the medical term Ankyloglossia, clipped. The tongue tie is the bottom part of the tongue. The nurse and doctors were able to tell she had tongue tie when she was born. I’m fortunate enough to work everyday in a field that surrounds me with medical professionals so I was well aware of what tongue tie does to a person from a social and medical standpoint. For breast feeding moms, it can be a pain to have a baby sucking on a nipple with tongue tie. It pained me to see my wife feed our daughter in pain, but she was a trooper and only had to suffer for one week. Tongue tie can affect speech and people’s ability to maneuver their tongue beyond their front teeth. Now just imagine everything you do that involves your tongue moving past your teeth. The crazy thing is that it is common, but many parents wait to do anything about it until kids are older. The good news is if you go to an Ear Nose Throat (ENT) Doctor before 6 months they can clip the tongue tie without putting you to sleep. It sounds scary but it’s a 2 minute procedure, my daughter didn’t even cry and it was only a small amount of blood that came out of having this procedure done. I knew since she was born we were going to have this procedure done, but I was never worried about her hurting or anything bad that could come from this procedure. I thought back to a scripture that my faith leans on and its 1 Peter 5:7 that basically says “Turn over all your anxiety to God because he cares for you”. I could easily worry about so much that is happening in my life as I have transitioned into fatherhood, but if I worry or have anxiety what’s the point of my Faith in God. God brought me this far so any procedure or surgery that might come up with my daughter I’ll leave it all in God’s hand to watch over her.


26 views0 comments
bottom of page