top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArthur

Fatherhood Highlights That Are Fun and Not So fun

So, I will have been a Dad 2 months on Valentines day. Isn’t that ironic, a day set aside to recognize the ones you love, and I have a new bundle of joy that I’m in love with. Although my bundle of joy has been in my life for a brief period of time there are some fun but no so fun things that have happened since she was born.


The first thing that is not so fun is changing diapers. I’ve gone 28 years without changing a single diaper so it has been fun learning how to change a diaper quick to stop the yelling and screaming that sometimes comes with it. I’ve taken off her diaper and seen poop shoot out like a rocket and hit not only me but the door. It’s not fun when it happens but I always find a way to laugh about it later. In a few years it’ll be a story I always tell future dads to watch out for.


The second thing that has not been so fun is sleeping when my baby sleeps. I had friends and family say sleep when the baby sleeps, and naturally being who I am I have learned the hard way. It’s taken some time but slowly I can fall asleep whenever she does. It does not take much to be awaken from her crying though. The fun part about her crying has been knowing what each cry sound means. Sometimes it means she’s hungry, wants attention, or she’s gassy and it’s hurting her stomach. I can’t lie, it hurts my soul to sleep for 15 minutes to be awaken by a cry. It’s not easy to think when you’re running low on fuel lol. My body is adjusting though, the name of the game is get baby back to sleep ASAP. I still hate to see her cry.


The 3rd and final thing that has been fun but not so fun is creating a baby watch schedule at night with my wife. It took a good 30 minutes to create the first schedule and we’re still adjusting it at times. Who would think breaking down an 8 hour time line could be so hard. I can’t wait for the day my baby girl sleeps through the night. On the other side it does make us create a routine for her to go to bed. My wife and I had some friends that talked to us about the routine they put their son on and the sacrifices it takes to make a routine. We are trying our hardest to stick to a routine. You can’t go out like you used to when trying to get a routine down pack. Your baby has to learn night time means sleep. S/O to them Gaspards for that key info. I’m faithful it will pay off in the long run.


I’m loving every minute of fatherhood. Things that were once easy decisions are now strategic moves. Things that are not that fun are actually fun. Everything is a lesson learned and turns out to be fun or funny a few hours later.



65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page