top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArthur

LAST 48


Let me tell you about my last 48 hours as a husband with 0 kids all the way through the first 48 hours as a dad. My wife and I went to a Doctors appt Dec 12, 2017 expecting everything to be ok…. I love how calm medical professionals are when they tell you life changing information. The baby was healthy but fluid levels were low around her so the Doctor tells us to go to the hospital and check in. Me being the Dad I am, I thought I had 5 weeks before I needed a bag packed with clothes and hygiene products to stay the nights with my wife in the hospital. There was just no way I would leave my wife over night in a hospital. After mentally getting myself together after hearing we need to go to the hospital, I calmly ask the Doctor “Do we have enough time to go home first so I can pack a bag.” My wife had been telling me for weeks, possibly months (but who’s counting) to pack a bag because you never know when we will have to go to the hospital. I could tell my wife was in shock as much as I was because she didn’t make any face or bring up me not having a packed bag. It was at that moment I knew no matter the fear of the unknown I was feeling I had to be strong for the both of us. Prior to the news I prayed every day for the Mental and Physical health of our baby girl, so I had faith that God heard every prayer and was protecting our baby and allowing her to grow as she should before she entered the world. We drove separately to the Doctors appt so we went home so I could pack a bag or throw a bunch of random clothes in a bag, get the car seat just incase our little one was born and head to the hospital. I called my mom who just flew home the previous day and told her the news. Just as an awesome GiGi (grandmother but don’t let her hear you say that word lol) does, she flew right back to be there for the arrival of her 1st grandchild.

Once we arrived at the hospital we had chosen to have our baby they hooked my wife up to an IV in hopes the fluid from the IV would help surround our bundle of joy inside my wife’s stomach. We stayed overnight and a part of me knew that there was no way that an IV was going to put all the fluids needed to surround our baby overnight. My wife drank more water daily than the IV fluids they gave her. The next morning came and they did an ultrasound to check fluid levels and as expected they were still low, so the Doctor said the words I never expected to hear so early…. “I am scheduling you for a C-Section tomorrow”. I was shocked but kind of happy. My Bday is Dec 15 and my baby was going to be born on Dec 14. I can never have a better Bday present than to have my little one be born a day before my Bday.

The day of the C section my wife was surround by all those that loved her. Her parents and my mom were there awaiting the arrival of the little one. We had said so many prayers prior to this day, and were even blessed to have our minister and his wife come and pray with us prior to the day of the C Section. The thing about me and my wife that I cherish the most is that we never worry too much about stuff out of our control because at the end of the day we know that God has his hands on it and he is going to look out for us. The day my baby was going to be born was not going to be any different. I’m not going to describe in detail of what I saw during the C Section. I’ll let all expectant fathers found out on their own, just be ready is all I can say. I personally saw more or the procedure than I wanted but I held it together for the most part. My Uncle told me I had to sing to my wife during the C Section. The whole day I knew I was going to sing a Motown Classic by the Temptations, “My Girl”. I had been practicing and reading the lyrics on I tunes music the entire day. I kind of remixed it and said “My Girls” since I was being blessed with a daughter. I am no singer, but I sang it repeatedly during the C Section. My wife has a low tolerance of pain, but I was amazed at her strength as they were getting my baby girl out of her. She never complained about discomfort… the drugs in her system must have been good also. When I laid eyes on my baby girl for the first time, I can’t even explain the emotions I was feeling. I was blessed to have a healthy baby girl be born into this world 5 weeks early. I have been blessed to go on many adventures through traveling with my wife, but I knew this was going to be the best adventure of my Life… Fatherhood.

Honestly the first 48 hours of fatherhood were mostly watching my baby girl sleep and learning what to expect over the next month. I didn’t sleep much because I was so excited and ready for my opportunity to feed her or change her diaper…. Now lets see after a couple months if I am excited to change diapers. Prior to the birth of my baby girl I had searched high and low for dad blogs and I found some, mostly though I found mom blogs. I knew I had a unique perspective to bring to the blogging world of Dad blogs. I hope you follow and see where the “Dad and Me” blogs goes.



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page